Articles on: Creators - Managing Members

What are the different user permissions?

User permissions give community creators the ability to grant special rights to members of their community. This function is currently available to Starter/Pro communities. You can alternatively grant admin rights to users (please read last section for this).

Where can I set different user permissions?



Log into your Locals community
Go to the Community Admin panel (located under your username menu)
Go to Member Lookup on the left side menu
Find the member you want to grant permission to
Click on the pencil icon next to the username
Click on Change Permission
Select the user permission



User Permission

What do the different types of user permissions mean?



Free User



A free user is exactly what it sounds like. Members who are granted this permission can access all facets of the community that would usually require a subscription to access, e.g. posting, commenting, chatting with the creator, access to supporter only posts. A free user will not have any visual badges that indicates this to the rest of the community.

We recommend giving free access to users if you would like to beta test your community in small batches. If you would like to give free trials in larger batches, read about free trials here. You can also use this as a way to give Locals access as a benefit to current supporters from other paywalls.

Super User



A super user is granted to users who are trusted members of the community and contribute often. Their posts, comments, and replies will never need to be moderated and are always published in real-time. A super user will have a gray star indicated near their avatar and will be displayed to everyone in the community.

Super Member

Team Member



A team member is a member of your team. The will have access to all paid features (like a free user) and their posts, comments, and replies will never need to be moderated (like a super user). A team member will have a gray check mark indicated near their avatar and will be displayed to everyone in the community. They do not have access to your creator admin panel. If you would like a team member to help you moderation, you can learn how to give them permissions here.

Team Member


Admin Access



Outside of these user permissions, you can also assign a user to be a Community Admin at any time (you don't need to upgrade tiers). Admins will essentially have the same rights as a creator. This right should only be given to users who you trust to manage your community as they have access to change all settings available to you in the creator admin panel.


To add an admin:

Log into your Locals community
Go to the Community Admin panel (located under your username menu)
Go to Settings
Find " Admin Access "
Enter in the username of the user who you want to grant Admin access to
Save changes


Add Admin

Updated on: 29/04/2024